LAHORE: Some PML-Q members began questioning the usefulness of their party’s electoral arrangement with the Pakistan People’s Party as the alliance could win only one out of six provincial and two National Assembly seats in the by-polls held in Punjab on Tuesday.


The PML-N won five provincial and one National Assembly seats, while an independent candidate backed by it, Khadim Hussain, won from PP-26, Jhelum.


Five of the seats had been vacated by the PML-N and one each by the PPP, PML-Q and its Unification Bloc when the Supreme Court ruled against those holding dual nationality.


The PPP suffered a setback by losing its seat, NA-162, Chichawatni, to the PML-N.



Both the PPP and PML-Q accused PML-N’s Punjab government of using state machinery and committing blatant violation of Election Commission’s code of conduct in Sahiwal, Gujrat and Gujranwala. Firing into the air and torture of rivals was also reported from some constituencies.


Punjab Chief Election Commissioner Raja Mahboob sought a report about the firing incidents that took place during the by-polls. “Action will be initiated against the culprits in the light of the report,” he said. The PML-Q Unification Bloc faced embarrassment after the father of its chief Dr Tahir Ali Javed, who had resigned because of dual nationality, was defeated by the party’s candidate. Despite securing PML-N’s ticket for PP-133, Narowal, Javed’s father Dr Naimat Ali remained third with 22,204 votes. PML-Q’s Omar Sharif got 29,300 and independent Maulana Ghiasuddin 23,000 votes.


Manzoor Wattoo, who recently got the PPP Punjab command, appeared to have failed in his first assignment as the party’s candidates suffered heavy defeats in the face of his tall claims that he would give a tough time to the PML-N in the province.


He even could not develop a good understanding with the Chaudhrys of Gujrat, who head the ally PML-Q, ahead of the by-polls.


According to unofficial results, in NA-107, Gujrat-IV, PML-N’s Malik Hanif Awan secured over 100,000 votes, defeating PML-Q’s Naseer Rehman (76,000).


In the National Assembly constituency NA-162, Chichawatni, Shahiwal, PML-N’s Zahid Iqbal got 75,000 votes, defeating Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaaf-backed independent candidate Rai Nawaz (65,700). The PPP had won this seat in 2008.


Interestingly, PPP’s winner in the last election, Zahid Iqbal, who had quit the seat, had joined the PML-N after surrendering his foreign nationality.

اردو میں پڑھئے



For more news visit our page : MagazineUrdu News, asianaffairs


Urdu news                    world urdu news                  News magazine         current issues


Whole middle east           Political magazine      Social affairs                world news


Related tags:

Latest news, world news, current affairs, breaking news, arab country news, daily news, Islamic news, india news, Pakistan news, , india Pakistan news, current news, news headlines, Latest World News,Articles,

Latest news, latest urdu news, world news, current affairs, breaking news, arab country news, sport news, cricket news, daily news, Islamic news, india news, Pakistan news, india Pakistan news, current news,Current affairs, Economic Affairs,Islam and Human Rights, Islam and Politics , Islam and the West, Muslim Media, Islamic Society, Islamic World,Latest World News,  breaking news ,Top Breaking News, Current Affairs, daily news, recent news, news headlines




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s